Fresh Off the Press: September 2019

9

The end-of-summer blues are in full swing! Days of reading by the pool or with toes in the sand are gone. Fall is in the air (well, at least here in New England it is)! It is bittersweet – the changing of the seasons. The autumnal hullabaloo has begun. ‘Tis the season for pumpkin lattes. Boots! FLANNEL!  Apple cider doughnuts! And, my personal favorite, curling up with front of the fire with a good book. Without further ado, here are 12 books to cozy up with this fall!

9

After the Flood

43245867
BUY ON AMAZON

by Kassandra Montag
William Morrow
September 3, 2019

AfterTheFloor_Bvb

A little more than a century from now, our world has been utterly transformed. After years of slowly overtaking the continent, rising floodwaters have obliterated America’s great coastal cities and then its heartland, leaving nothing but an archipelago of mountaintop colonies surrounded by a deep expanse of open water. —Goodreads


Fashionopolis

43671670.jpg
BUY ON AMAZON

by Dana Thomas
Penguin Press
September 3, 2019

Fashionopolis_Bvb

We all have been casual about our clothes. It’s time to get dressed with intention. Fashionopolis is the first comprehensive look at how to start. —Goodreads


American Royals

43744300.jpg
BUY ON AMAZON

by Katherine McGee
Random House Books for Young Readers
September 3, 2019

AmericanRoyals_bvb

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren’t just any royals. They’re American. And their country was born of rebellion. —Goodreads


This Tender Land

25813942
BUY ON AMAZON

by William Kent Krueger
Atria Books
September 3, 2019

ThisTenderLand_bvb

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. —Goodreads


The Testaments

42975172
BUY ON AMAZON

by Margaret Atwood
Penguin Random House
September 10, 2019

Testaments_bvb

In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalized readers for decades. —Goodreads


Talking to Strangers

43848929._SX318_
BUY ON AMAZON

by Malcolm Gladwell
Little, Brown and Company
September 10, 2019

TalkingToStrangers_bvb

In July 2015, a young black woman named Sandra Bland was pulled over for a minor traffic violation in rural Texas. Minutes later she was arrested and jailed. Three days later, she committed suicide in her cell. What went wrong? Talking to Strangers is all about what happens when we encounter people we don’t know, why it often goes awry, and what it says about us. —Goodreads


The Institute

43798285
BUY ON AMAZON

by Stephen King
Scribner
September 10, 2019

TheInstitute_bvb.png

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of ItThe Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win. —Goodreads


The Nanny

43245864
BUY ON AMAZON

by Gilly Macmillan
William Morrow
September 10, 2019

TheNanny_bvb.png

In this compulsively readable tale of secrets, lies, and deception, Gilly Macmillan explores the darkest impulses and desires of the human heart. Diabolically clever, The Nanny reminds us that sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie. —Goodreads


Frankly in Love

39847584
BUY ON AMAZON

by David Yoon
G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
September 10, 2019

FranklyInLove.png

For fans of When Dimple Met Rishi and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before!


Red at the Bone

43697186
BUY ON AMAZON

by Jacqueline Woodson
Riverhead Books
September 17, 2019

RedAtTheBone_bvb.png

An unexpected teenage pregnancy pulls together two families from different social classes, and exposes the private hopes, disappointments, and longings that can bind or divide us from each other, from the New York Times-bestselling and National Book Award-winning author of Another Brooklyn and Brown Girl Dreaming. —Goodreads


The Dutch House

44318414.jpg
BUY ON AMAZON

by Ann Patchett
Harper
September 24, 2019

RedAtTheBone_bvb

At the end of the Second World War, Cyril Conroy combines luck and a single canny investment to begin an enormous real estate empire, propelling his family from poverty to enormous wealth. His first order of business is to buy the Dutch House, a lavish estate in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia. Meant as a surprise for his wife, the house sets in motion the undoing of everyone he loves. —Goodreads


The Water Dancer

43982054
BUY ON AMAZON

by Ta-Nehisi Coates
One World
September 24, 2019

TheWaterDancer_bvb

Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his mother was sold away, Hiram was robbed of all memory of her—but was gifted with a mysterious power. Years later, when Hiram almost drowns in a river, that same power saves his life. This brush with death births an urgency in Hiram and a daring scheme: to escape from the only home he’s ever known. —Goodreads

9cropped-blonde-vs-books-header-blue-and-green-big-3129675811-1535750137661-1.png9

Advertisements

Leave a Reply