WINTER READS 2018

ODC CD 4

Welcome, winter!
Welcome hot chocolate, curling up by the fire, fuzzy socks, cozy sweaters and most importantly… good books.

ODC CD 4

#1 THE MONK OF MOKHA 

35342927

Author: Dave Eggers

Genre: Biography

Publishing Date: January 30, 2018

Synopsis: From my all time favorite author, Dave Eggers, comes a true story about perseverance, finding your passion, culture, the Yemeni civil war and what it means to be a Muslim and a US citizen.

#2 THE CHALK MAN

35356382

Author: C.J. Tudor

Genre: Mystery

Publishing Date: January 9, 2018

Synopsis: It’s 1986 and Eddie and his friends spend their days biking around their small English town looking for excitement. One day, their new albino teacher suggests that they communicate with chalk figures drawn on the pavement. Each meeting spot has their own symbol and each friend has their own color. But then a mysterious symbol leads them all to a dead body…

Check out my REVIEW

#3 THE IMMORTALISTS

30288282

Author: Chloe Benjamin

Genre: Fantasy

Publishing Date: January 9, 2018

Synopsis:It’s 1969 in New York City’s Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes. (via Goodreads)

#4 THE ENGLISH WIFE

34945222

Author: Lauren Willig

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publishing Date: January 9, 2018

Synopsis: Let’s escape to New York in The Gilded Age. Annabelle & Bayard Van Duyvil seem to have it all: wealth, status, romance & adorable twins. People love to gossip about them, but when Bayard is found dead and Annabelle is missing, there’s a mad rush to uncover every secret about this family.

Check out my REVIEW

#5 LOVE, HATE AND OTHER FILTERS

31207017

Author: Samira Ahmed

Genre: Young Adult

Publishing Date: January 16th, 2018

Synopsis: If you loved The Hate U Give or When Dimple Met Rishi, this book is for you. Maya is an American-Indian; her parents expect her to be good Indian daughter. She goes to college close to home and her parents set her up with a suitable future husband. Everything is about to be turned upside down; will Maya persevere to stand up for what she really wants out of life?

#6 THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW 

34848682

Author: A. J. Finn

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publishing Date: January 2, 2018

Synopsis: Dr. Anna Fox hasn’t left her New York City home in ten months. She used to be a successful child psychiatrist but because of one horrific event, her life is in shambles. She drinks heavily, plays chess online and spies on her neighbors; that’s how she passes her days. When she witnesses a crime through the window and calls the police, no one believes her. Has her agoraphobia made her delusional and paranoid, or are people just covering up the crime? 

Check out my REVIEW

#7 WINTER KEPT US WARM 35056886

Author: Anne Raeff

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publishing Date: February 13, 2018

Synopsis:  An evocative story of family, strained by the cruelty of war and its generational repercussions. A novel of the heart, filled to the brim with unforgettable characters stitching together the deep threads of love, friendship, loyalty, and, of course, loss. (via Goodreads)

Check out my REVIEW

#8 AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE

an american marriage

Author: Tayari Jones

Genre:
Contemporary Fiction

Publishing Date: February 6, 2018

Synopsis: Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. (via Goodreads)

#9 RED CLOCKS

35099035

Author: Leni Zumas

Genre: Science Fiction

Publishing Date: January 16, 2018

Synopsis: In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. (via Goodreads)

#10 TRULY DEVIOUS

29589074

Author: Maureen Johnson

Genre: Young Adult/Mystery

Publishing Date: January 16, 2018

Synopsis: Looking for a new series to start? This murder mystery is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Ruth Ware. With a setting of an elite private school in the middle of the Vermont woods, this series is bound to be thrilling and best selling. 

#11 CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

children of blood and bone

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Genre:
Fantasy/Young Adult

Publishing Date: March 6, 2018

Synopsis: If you’re a fantasy fanatic, this one is for you. Once you move past the gorgeous cover, you’ll find a story about survival, magic, power, corruption, royalty, and how one girl fights to bring magic back to her community. 

#12 FEEL FREE

feel free

Author: Zadie Smith

Genre: Nonfiction

Publishing Date: February 6, 2018

Synopsis: Feel Free is an aggregate of essays which are aimed to discuss highly relevant topics. A couple examples include:  What is the social network – and Facebook itself – really about? or what will we tell out grandchildren about our collective failure to address global warming? This book is what everyone will be talking about this winter, so be sure to pick it up! 

#13  HOW TO STOP TIME 

35411685

Author: Matt Haig

Genre: Historical Fantasy
(yup, just made that up)

Publishing Date: February 6, 2018

Synopsis: If you enjoyed The Curious Case of Benjamin Button or The Time Traveler’s Wife, you will certainly enjoy this read. Tom Hazard has a rare condition: he ages very slowly. He has been alive for centuries; he has lived through history. Naturally, he’s a high school history teacher. How to Stop Time is about embracing change and finding happiness in unlikely times. 

#14 EDUCATED

33135584

Author: Tara Westover

Genre: Memoir

Publishing Date: February 20, 2018

Synopsis: An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University. (via Goodreads)

#15 SUNBURN

35207298

Author: Laura Lippman

Genre: Thriller

Publishing Date: February 20, 2018

Synopsis: Looking for a good thriller this season? Here we have a couple who meet at a literal crossroads: Polly is traveling west, Adam is ‘passing through’. Yet they decide to travel together, sacrificing plans in lieu of their enthralling passion for one another. Then someone dies…

#16 THE GREAT ALONE

36468146

Author: Kristin Hannah

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publishing Date: January 30, 2018

Synopsis: From the best-selling author of The Nightingale, among several other remarkable novels, comes a remarkable story about the vast wilderness in Alaska. The description reads: “Alaska, 1974. Untamed. Unpredictable. And for a family in crisis, the ultimate test of the human spirit.” This is the perfect novel to curl up with during a snow storm. 

#17 THE HAZEL WOOD

34275232

Author: Melissa Albert

Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult

Publishing Date: January 30, 2018

Synopsis: The Hazel Wood has generated a great deal of anticipation leading up to it’s publication! Be sure to look out for this one; with it’s dark-fairy tale vibe and aesthetic cover, this story about a family in a supernatural world is sure to be a hit. 

#18 WINTER SOLSTICE

31933068

Author: Elin Hilderbrand

Genre: Holiday/Chick-Lit

Books: #1 Winter Street, #2 Winter Stroll, #3 Winter Storms, #4 Winter Solstice

Synopsis: The last of this heart wrenching four-part series is here. While it was a 2017 publication, I couldn’t exclude Winter Solstice from my list of winter must-reads. Christmas doesn’t have to be over yet! Travel to Nantucket Island, Massachusetts with the Quinn family for a plethora of family dysfunction and holiday warmth. 

Check out my REVIEW

ODC CD 4

For nonfiction reads to help reach your 2018 goals, be sure to check out my NEW YEAR, NEW ME blog for recommendations.

&

I would love to know what you’re reading this winter! Comment below & let me know 🙂 

ODC CD 4

Happy Reading, 

blonde vs books header blue and green small

4

4 Comments

Leave a Reply